Women landlords thrive despite adversity in the market

Business-savvy women are defying the recession, with their hard work and determination, according to the National Landlords Association (NLA), which today announced the finalists in the NLA Property Women Awards 2010.

The Awards highlight the most dedicated women in the private-rented sector, who have weathered a difficult market and continue to go above and beyond the call of duty. Judged on their property portfolio, financial success and personal achievements in the sector, the following female landlords are now down to the final three in their respective regions:

  • East of England: Myra McNeil, Karen Murray and Irene Turner.
  • East Midlands: Tracey Abbiss, Rachel Hutchinson and Tamsin Sapwell.
  • London: Georgina Bloomfield, Bindar Dosanjh and Coral Humes.
  • North East: Juliet Ashton-Taylor, Maria Beckwith and Joan Briggs.
  • North West: Christine Jones, Sylvia Marrs and Tammy Silcock.
  • Scotland: Mhairi Noble, Nora Rojas-Sinclair and Elaine Stenson.
  • South East: Anna Bowden, Diane Fry and Hasmita Reardon.
  • South West: Claire Heale, Anne Jarrett and Fiona Macaskill.
  • Wales: Jane James, Elizabeth Paterson and Lilly Sharma.
  • West Midlands: Samantha Collett, Amy Dixon and Glenda Houston.
  • Yorkshire and The Humber: Shona Davison, Lesley Jackson and Sandra Widdrington.

Two additional awards are up for grabs. For the eco-conscious, the NLA Green Property Woman Award honours those who have taken steps to ensure their properties and tenants are having a positive influence on the environment.

Those aged under 30, who have already made a mark on the property market, are eligible for the NLA Young Property Woman Award.

The women in the running for these awards are:

  • Green: Tracey Abbiss, Fiona Macaskill and Elaine Stenson.
  • Young: Nina Batley, Amy Dixon and Marta Lijoi.

By popular demand, two new award categories were also added this year. The NLA Letting Agent Property Woman Award recognises the excellent work of female agents, while the NLA Local Authority Property Woman Award highlights the female local authority officers who show a creative engagement with their local private-rented sectors. The finalists for these awards are:

  • Letting Agent: Claire Empson, Glenda Houston and Caroline Lindegaard.
  • Local Authority: Jan Colgan, Kim Waugh and Nicola White.

All of the finalists have their own remarkable stories to tell and each stands a chance of winning the biggest accolade of all: NLA Property Woman of the Year 2010, at the prestigious Awards ceremony in Central London on Thursday 24 June 2010.

For the second year running, the Awards will be hosted by Melissa Porter, the respected property entrepreneur, interior designer and television star.  Melissa has once again been “blown away” by the quality of this year’s entrants. She comments: “The calibre of entries has been amazing. All those that have been shortlisted should be extremely proud. Their determination and desire to succeed despite adversity is an inspiration to us all.”

David Salusbury, Chairman, NLA added: “We have received some outstanding nominations which is even more remarkable when you consider how turbulent the market has been. The fact that these women have still prospered is testament to their hard work and dedication.  This year’s awards promise to be the most competitive yet.”

For more information, visit www.propertywomenawards.org.uk

Leave a Reply